Re: the spammers win another battle in the ongoing war

From: Braun, R. Daniel (rbraun@iupui.edu)
Sat, 2 Jun 2001 17:24:33 -0500


Does this mean that we will not be able to block certain posters from the Fora? Dan

-----Original Message----- From: Bruce Speyer [mailto:bruce.speyer@medispecialty.com] Sent: Saturday, June 02, 2001 4:12 PM To: Multiple recipients of list TECHTALK Subject: the spammers win another battle in the ongoing war

Well,

If you go to http://www.orbs.com all you get now is "Due to circumstances beyond our control, the ORBS website is no longer available." and the ORBS DNS blacklist servers are shutdown. ORBS was one of the mechanisms sendmail (the major UNIX mail server) uses to reduce Spam deliveries.

The maintainer of the Open Relay Behavioural Modification System (ORBS) blacklist has basically given up rather then fight in court. Both ORBS and MAPS have been enjoined to not block certain sites by the courts. There are allegations that sites that were not technically open relays but were added to the list and that legitimate sites were reported and added to the list by external people sometimes the spammers themselves. All this setting up the argument that ORBS caused damage to non-spammers, causing financial loss, yada yada.

Without specific anti-spam legislation on a country by country basis the spammers have freedom of speech argument on their side and also the blurry definition line of what is and is not Spam. What this probably means is that free anti-spamming systems (what few there are) will disappear overtime and all be replaced by commercial for-fee systems. If I buy a service like brightmail for $20K plus I am sure as part of the contract I sign a clause that makes them my agent for deterimining what and what is not spam, i.e., spammers can send their spam but I can choose or legal transfer that right to my agent to choose what not to accept.

On a related note, Hormel corporation the makers of Spam this week gave up its legal battles to block the use of the word Spam as the slang name for UCE (unsolicited commerical email).

Dazed Bruce

--
Bruce Speyer, CTO             Home of OTOHNS.net http://www.otohns.net
MediSpecialty.com                         A Physician Directed Network
+001 512-418-2922                   and OBGYN.net http://www.obgyn.net
  fax 512-795-0527, mobile 512-632-3455  The Universe of Women's Health
EMAIL: bruce.speyer@medispecialty.com

recommended search...
Google
OBGYN.net forums endometriosis zone Web

use when must restrict search to only the tech talk forum...
Enter search keywords:
Returns per screen: Require all keywords:
Return to  TechTalk Forum
  List Requests to TechTalk-request@obgyn.net
Last Updated Mon May 19 16:30:39 2008