? SPAM SCAM ?

From: Fred Smythe (fsmythe@hotmail.com)
Sun Nov 30 08:47:56 1997


I am embarrassed to write that I actually went to that site to see what it had! (FIVE TIMES!) Each time I got an error message saying that the site was not functioning. Apparently it has already been pulled offline by the ISP, or the message was a "SPAM SCAM" in the first place.

By the way, to flood an e-mail address with data, as suggested, might in fact simply penalize an innocent third party. Do not dump data on an e-mail address or a web site unless you are certain that they are the originators. Otherwise you may be just as bad as those who sent out the original message.

For what it is worth, a TRACERT search (see below) seems to indicate that the site is in the Tampa, Florida, area somewhere and that it uses an internet backbone provider called "ASCI".

I am sure that the OB-GYN-L administrators have already removed the offending party from the list and their post from the archives.

TRACERT.EXE output:

...

8 332 ms 308 ms 309 ms mae-west.acsi.net [198.32.136.79] 9 584 ms 339 ms 350 ms tucson-az-1-a12-0.acsi.net [206.222.97.8] 10 341 ms 333 ms 370 ms elpaso-tx-1-a11-0.acsi.net [206.222.97.7] 11 406 ms 555 ms 380 ms fortwo-tx-1-a12-0.acsi.net [206.222.97.6] 12 375 ms 353 ms 332 ms little-ar-1-a12-0.acsi.net [206.222.97.2] 13 362 ms 338 ms 355 ms greenv-sc-1-a12-0.acsi.net [206.222.97.5] 14 357 ms 379 ms 360 ms atlant-ga-1-a12-0.acsi.net [206.222.97.3] 15 354 ms 358 ms 365 ms jackso-fl-a5-0.acsi.net [206.222.99.6] 16 375 ms 418 ms 371 ms orland-fl-a5-0.acsi.net [206.222.99.7] 17 388 ms 381 ms 372 ms tampa-fl-a12.acsi.net [206.222.99.5] 18 394 ms 363 ms 382 ms 209.222.104.34 19 * * * Request timed out. 20 * * * Request timed out. 21 * * * Request timed out. 22 * * * Request timed out. 23 * * * Request timed out. 24 * * * Request timed out. 25 * * * Request timed out. 26 * * * Request timed out. 27 * * * Request timed out. 28 * * * Request timed out. 29 * * * Request timed out. 30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.

________________________________________________

--
________________________________________________

Anybody think this sender should be spammed?

I think at least 10Mb per day should be suitable

Sam Saidi O&G trainee ROyal Marsden hospital

Randy@nowhere.net wrote:

> Go to this Web site: http://209.136.73.241/225 > > *Attention Web Surfers* > > \\\\\\ > O O > ( > ) > \ 0 "Come See Hard Boys" > / \ > > >>>The Internet's Premier Adult Gay Web Site<<< > > Check it out for FREE - Right Now! > > Simply click on the link below and have fun... > > <A HREF="http://209.136.73.241/225">All Male Adult Web Site</A> > > You can see LIVE NUDE MALE DANCERS... > > 24 HOURS A DAY>>> On your computer screen! > > Go to this Web site: http://209.136.73.241/225 > > You must be of legal age in your jurisdiction > to enter this Adults Only Web Site! > > Thank You.





use when must restrict search to only the ob-gyn-l forum...
Enter search keywords:
Returns per screen: Require all keywords:

Return to  OB-GYN-L Mail a New Message to the Forum: ob-gyn-l@obgyn.net
Forum Administrator: geffrey.klein@obgyn.net
Report Technical Problems: webmaster@obgyn.net
Last Updated: Mon Nov 2 05:25:25 2009

The American Medical Association is no longer designating CME hours for AMA Category II CME credit. However, physicians themselves may self designate learning activities as Category II CME credit hours if they feel it is of sufficient educational merit and meets the formal definitions of continuing medical education. OBGYN.net believes these interaction in this forum meets these criteria. For further information see the AMA web site.